Academic Calendar

Here you will find the Academic Calendar and final exam schedule. 

Fall 2020 Academic Calendar

Date Day Event
April 24-June 30, 2020 Mon. - Fri. Open Registration - Continuing Students
April 24-Sept. 8, 2020 Mon. - Fri. Open Registration - New Students
July 1 - Sept. 8, 2020 Mon. - Fri. Late Registration - All Continuing Students
Aug. 18   President Marcy's State of the University Address
Aug. 18   Academic Retreat
Aug.19   New Faculty Orientation
Aug. 20- 23   General Orientation Session for New Students.
Aug. 23 Sun.  Last Day to receive 100% tutition refund.
Aug. 24 Mon. First Day of Classes
Sept. 7 Mon. Labor Day - Campus Closed
Sept. 8 Tues. Last Day to Add or Drop a Class without a "W" grade & with 75% Refund
Sept. 15 Tues. Census Day
Sept. 15 Tues. Last day to register for Internships
TBA   Convocation
TBA   Family Weekend
Oct. 16 Fri. Fall Break Day
Oct. 16 Fri. Mid-Term Deficiency Reports due to Registrar
Oct. 21-Nov. 6 Mon. - Fri. Academic Advising for Spring 2021
Nov. 6 Fri. Last day to drop a class with a grade of "W"
Nov. 9-12 Mon. - Thurs. Priority Registration for Spring 2021
Nov. 13 Fri. Deadline to file Graduation (May and Aug 2021)
Open Registration Begins - New & Continuing Students
Nov. 25 Wed. Academic Holiday
Nov. 26-27 Thurs.-Fri. Thanksgiving Holiday - Campus Closed
Dec. 1 Tues. "Incomplete" work from previous semester due to instructor
Dec. 4 Fri. Last Day of Classes
Dec. 7 - 11 Mon.-Fri. Final Examinations
Dec. 16 Wed. Final Grades Due in Registrar's Office - Grades Posted in Self Service
Dec. 23-Jan. 1 Thurs.-Fri. Winter Break - Campus Closed
Date Day Event
Mar. 30–April 17 Mon.– Fri. Academic Advising
April 20–23 Mon.-Thurs. Priority Registration
April 24 Fri. Open Registration
May 25 Mon. Memorial Day (campus holiday)
May 26 Tues. First Day of Classes
June 2 Tues. Deadline to Add or Drop a Class
July 2-3 Thurs.-Fri. 4th of July Holiday
July 6 Mon. Deadline to Withdraw from a Class with a Grade of 'W'
July 31 Fri. Last Day of Class
Aug. 7 Fri. Grades Due & Posted
Date Day Event
Nov. 15–Dec. 31 Mon.– Fri. Open Registration - Continuing  Students
Nov. 15–Jan. 17 Mon.– Fri. Open Registration for New Students
Jan. 1–Feb. 3 Mon.– Fri. Late Registration - All Continuing Students 
TBA Mon. New Faculty Orientation
TBA Thur. FT Faculty Retreat
Jan. 20 Mon. Martin Luther King Day - Campus Holiday
Jan. 21 Tues. First Day of Classes
Feb. 3 Mon. Last Day to Add or Drop a Class without a  "W" grade and with 100 percent refund
Feb. 17 Mon. President's Day - Campus Holiday
Feb. 18 Tues. Census Day
Feb. 18 Tues. Last day to register for Internships
March 9-13 Mon. – Fri. Spring Break - Academic Holiday
March 13 Fri. Spring Break Day - Campus Holiday
March 29 Sun. Mid-Term Grades due to the Registrar's Office
March 31 Tues. Cesar Chavez Day Observed - Campus Holiday
March 30-April 17 Mon.—Fri. Advising for Summer and Fall 2020
April 10 Fri. Good Friday - Campus Holiday
April 12 Fri. Last day to drop a class with a grade of "W" (may be done via email)
April 20-24 Mon.– Thurs. Priority Registration for Summer and Fall 2020
April 22 Wed. Cancelled — University Conference
April 24 Fri. Deadline to file for Fall 2020 Graduation.
Open Registration Begins - New and Continuing Students
April 24 Fri. Graduation Applications for December 2020
May 1 Fri. "Incomplete" work from previous semester due to instructor
May 5 Tues. Last Day of Classes
May 6 Wed. Study Day
May 7-13 Thurs.–Wed. Final Examinations
May 16 Sat. Commencement - Graduate & Undergraduate
May 20 Wed. Final Grades Due in Registrar's Office - Grades Posted in Self Service
  • Campus Holidays (no classes and campus offices are closed)
  • Academic Holidays (no classes but campus offices are open)
  • All dates subject to change. Last updated 12/3/19 

Five-Year At-a-Glance Academic Calendar

Review the Five-Year Academic Calendar.

To request a past Academic Calendar, please contact the Office of the Registrar. 

Final Exam Week

Here you will find details about Final Exam Week and your final exam schedule. 

  • During final exam week, all regular class are subject to the final exam schedule.
  • Final exams are held in the same classroom in which the class has met all semester.
  • Final exams are not optional.
  • Final exam week is considered the final week of instruction in the semester.
  • Final exam week period will meet week 16 of the term. Fall (Monday-Friday) and spring (Thursday-Wednesday)  Please see Academic Calendar for exact dates.
  • All classes that give a final exam will meet at only one of their regularly scheduled times during final exam week to administer the exam.   
  • Classes that meet once a week will hold the final at their normal weekly day/time during final exam week.

Please note — If your class only meets one day a week, then your final exam is at your regularly scheduled time.

If your class meets Mondays and Wednesdays: 

Time block start time: Final exam day:
    
8:30 a.m.
Monday
10:20 a.m.  Wednesday
noon (lunch) Wednesday
12:30 p.m. Monday
    
2:20 p.m.
Wednesday
4:10 p.m.  Monday
5:50 p.m. (dinner) Monday
6:20 p.m. Wednesday
8:10 p.m. Monday 

 

If your class meets Tuesdays and Thursdays: 

Time block start time: Final exam day:
    
8:00 a.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m.  Thursday
10:50 a.m. Tuesday
12:30 a.m. (lunch) Tuesday
1 p.m. Thursday
2 p.m. Tuesday
3:50 p.m. Thursday
5:30 p.m. (dinner) Thursday
6 p.m. Tuesday
7:50 p.m.  Thursday
9:40 p.m.  Tuesday

Please always confirm final exam schedule with your instructor or syllabus.  

Questions about the academic calendar or final exam schedule? Please contact us!