Academic Calendar

Here you will find the Academic Calendars and final exam schedule. 

guzman hall

Five-Year At-a-Glance Academic Calendar

Fall 2021 Academic Calendar

All dates are subject to change. 

Date Day Event
April 16-June 30 Mon.-Fri. Open Registration – Continuing Students
April 16-Sept. 7 Mon.-Fri. Open Registration – New Students
July 1-Sept. 7 Mon.-Fri. Late Registration – All Continuing Students
Aug. 17 Tue. President Pitchford's State of the University Address
Aug. 17 Tue. University Retreat
Aug. 16 Mon. New Faculty Orientation
Aug. 19-22 Thurs.-Sun. New Student Orientation
Aug. 22 Sun.  Last Day to receive 100% tuition refund.
Aug. 23 Mon. First Week of Classes, Traditional Programs. Graduate Programs May Vary. Check Self Service.
Sept. 6 Mon. Labor Day – Campus Closed
Sept. 7 Tue. Last Day to Add or Drop a Class without a "W" grade & with 75% Refund
Sept. 15 Wed. Census Day
Sept. 15 Wed. Last Day to Register for Internships.
Oct. 8 Fri. Convocation
Oct. 8-10 Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
Oct. 15 Fri. Fall Break Day
Oct. 15 Fri. Mid-Term Deficiency Reports due to Registrar
Oct. 18-Nov. 12 Mon.-Fri. Academic Advising for Spring 2022
Nov. 5 Fri. Last Day to Drop a Class With a Grade of "W"
Nov. 15-18 Mon.-Thurs. Priority Registration for Spring 2022
Nov. 19 Fri. Deadline to file Graduation (May and Aug 2022)
Open Registration Begins – New & Continuing Students
Nov. 24 Wed. Academic Holiday
Nov. 25-26 Thurs.-Fri. Thanksgiving Holiday – Campus Closed
Dec. 1 Wed. "Incomplete" Work From Previous Semester Due to Instructor
Dec. 3 Fri. Last Day of Classes
Dec. 6-10 Mon.-Fri. Final Examinations
Dec. 16 Thurs. Final Grades Due in Registrar's Office —Grades Posted in Self Service
Dec. 22-31 Wed.-Fri. Winter Break – Campus Closed

Summer 2021 Academic Calendar

All dates are subject to change. 

Date Day Event
Apr 16-May 21 Mon.-Fri. Open Registration – Continuing Students
May 23 Sun. Last Day for 100% Refund
May 24 Mon. First Day of Term. Class starts may vary by course. Check Self Service
May 31 Mon. Memorial Day (campus holiday)
June 1 Tue. Deadline to Add or Drop a Class (75% Refund)
June 18 Fri. Juneteenth (campus holiday)  
July 2-5 Fri. & Mon. Fourth of July Holiday Observed
July 6 Tue. Deadline to Withdraw from a Class with a Grade of 'W' for 10-week courses
July 30 Fri. Last Day of Class
August 6 Fri. Grades Due & Posted

Spring 2021 Academic Calendar

All dates are subject to change. 

Date Day Event
Nov. 16-Dec. 31, 2020 Mon.-Fri. Open Registration – Continuing Students
Nov. 16-Jan. 17, 2021 Mon.- Fri. Open Registration – New Students
Jan. 1- Feb. 1 Mon.-Fri. Late Registration – All Continuing Students
Jan. 11 Mon. New Faculty Orientation
Jan. 12 Tue. FT Faculty Retreat
Jan. 18 Mon. Last day to receive a 100% refund.
Jan. 18 Mon. Martin Luther King Day – Campus Holiday
Jan. 19 Tue. First Day of Classes
Feb. 1 Mon. Last Day to Add or Drop a Class without a "W" grade & with 75% Refund.
Feb. 15 Mon. President's Day – Campus Holiday
Feb. 16 Tue. Census Day
Feb. 16 Tue. Last day to register for Internships
Mar. 8-12 Mon.-Fri. Spring Break – Academic Holiday
Mar. 12 Fri. Spring Break Day – Campus Holiday
Mar. 15 Mon. Mid-Term Deficiency Reports due to Registrar
Mar. 15 Mon.-Fri. Advising begins for Summer and Fall 2021
Mar. 31 Wed. Cesar Chavez Day Observed – Campus Holiday
Apr. 2 Fri. Good Friday - Campus Holiday
Apr. 5 Mon. Last day to drop a class with a grade of "W"
Apr. 12-15 Mon.-Thur. Priority Registration for Summer and Fall 2021
Apr. 16 Fri. Deadline to file for Fall 2021 Graduation. Open Registration Begins – New & Continuing Students
Apr. 21 Wed. University Conference (virtual)
May 3 Mon. "Incomplete" work from the previous semester due to instructor
May 4 Tue. Last Day of Classes
May 5 Wed. Study Day
May 6-12 Thur.-Wed. Final Examinations
May 15 Sat. Commencement – Graduate & Undergraduate
May 19 Wed. Final Grades Due in Registrar's Office – Grades Posted in Self Service

 

Final Exam Week

Here you will find details about Final Exam Week and your final exam schedule. 

  • During final exam week, all regular class are subject to the final exam schedule.
  • Final exams are held in the same classroom in which the class has met all semester.
  • Final exams are not optional.
  • Final exam week is considered the final week of instruction in the semester.
  • Final exam week period will meet week 16 of the term. Fall (Monday-Friday) and spring (Thursday-Wednesday)  Please see Academic Calendar for exact dates.
  • All classes that give a final exam will meet at only one of their regularly scheduled times during final exam week to administer the exam.   
  • Classes that meet once a week will hold the final at their normal weekly day/time during final exam week.

Please note — If your class only meets one day a week, then your final exam is at your regularly scheduled time.

If your class meets Mondays and Wednesdays: 

Time block start time: Final exam day:
    
8:30 a.m.
Monday
10:20 a.m.  Wednesday
noon (lunch) Wednesday
12:30 p.m. Monday
    
2:20 p.m.
Wednesday
4:10 p.m.  Monday
5:50 p.m. (dinner) Monday
6:20 p.m. Wednesday
8:10 p.m. Monday 

 

If your class meets Tuesdays and Thursdays: 

Time block start time: Final exam day:
    
8:00 a.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m.  Thursday
10:50 a.m. Tuesday
12:30 a.m. (lunch) Tuesday
1 p.m. Thursday
2 p.m. Tuesday
3:50 p.m. Thursday
5:30 p.m. (dinner) Thursday
6 p.m. Tuesday
7:50 p.m.  Thursday
9:40 p.m.  Tuesday

Please always confirm final exam schedule with your instructor or syllabus.  

Questions about the academic calendar or final exam schedule? Please contact us!