Inaugural Penguin Leadership Awards honor students, clubs, faculty

Students Rond Allen De Leon '17 and Melissa Stoakley '17, Political Science professor Alison Howard, and members of the Black Student Union and Kapamilya Club were honored at the inaugural Penguin Leadership Awards at Dominican.

The event was created through Student Life to recognize individuals and organizations on campus committed to developing and embracing student leadership. The award winners were nominated by students, faculty, and staff and selected by a Student Life committee.

“Part of the message we shared at the event was that leadership does not have to fit into traditional roles on campus,” says Lauren Castro, Director of Student Activities and Leadership. “You can be a leader and role model to your peers by supporting the growth and education of others.”

Rond Allen De Leon, a Nursing major, was selected Student Leader of the Year. He has served as a mentor for fellow nursing students and is captain of the Student Ambassador team. Rond also was co-coach of Dominican’s Kapamilya Club winning team in the 2016 Friendship Games, a gathering of Filipino-American student-led organizations from more than 40 public and private universities.

Melissa Stoakley, a Communications and Media Studies major, was named the first recipient of the Exemplary Dominican Pillar Award who best represents the University’s ideals. She is a member of the Student Ambassador team, one of the ASDU Senior Class Senators, and has been a mentor/supervisor for the Allen Sports Club on campus. She was a captain for Dominican’s women’s soccer team in the fall and last year she was named Junior Female Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Alison Howard, chair of the department for Political Science and International Studies, was named Faculty Club Advisor of the Year. She serves as advisor for the Dominican Political Science Association (DPSA) and the Ignite Club.

The Black Student Union, which presented events such as Mahogany Night, the Miss Dominican pageant, and the film screening of Birth of a Nation, was named Organization of the Year. The award was shared by BSU president Tegist Worku ’17 and fellow club members Xavier Williams '18, Monica Spohn '17, Emanual Cifuentes-Machado '19,  Jennessica Holliday '18, and Hawi Awash '17.

Dominican’s Kapamilya Club was selected for producing the Outstanding Program/Event of the Year – Pilipino Cultural Night (PCN) “Kwento Namim.” Club members receiving award certificates included event coordinators Stephanie Abrenica ’17 and Justin Paraoan '17, Phoebe Taasan '17, Yvonne Bamba '17, Justin Pring '18, Veronica San Felipe '17, Isabella Jacinto '19, Kyle Lautan '18, Kevin Del Rosario '19, Allex Llenos '17, Danica Tse, '17, April Perez '17, Samantha Padama '17, Justin Perez '18, Marielle Lopez '19, and Mirabella Mercado '19.


May 2, 2017