Dr. Françoise Lepage receives inaugural Global Education Award

Dr. Françoise Lepage, Professor and Dean Emerita at the Barowsky School of Business, was honored by Dominican’s Global Education Office on November 17, 2016 for her significant lifetime contribution.

Dominican Trustee Melroy Atkins ’06 and ‘10 MBA presented the inaugural Françoise Lepage Achievement in Global Education Award to Dr. Lepage during the International Education Week Consular Corps Reception in Guzman Lecture Hall.

The Françoise Lepage Achievement in Global Education Award acknowledges the efforts and hard work of individuals possessing innovation, imagination and audaciousness to think beyond borders to connect higher education teaching and learning at a global level.

Highlights of Dr. Lepage’s contribution to international education and the vision to enhance the greater Marin community’s global perspective include:

•    Secured four National Science Foundation grants to create programs that would enhance the global perspective of Marin’s K-12 teachers
•     Founding director of Dominican’s Graduate Program in Pacific Basin Studies
•     Established the Global Education Office in 2011
•    Created the Lepage Center for Global Innovation, which seeks local solutions to global issues, in the Barowsky School of Business.

Along with these academic contributions, Dr. Lepage has traveled to meet alumni in Taipei, Tokyo, Bangkok, and Shanghai and address business groups in Seoul, Sydney, Marrakech, and the San Francisco Bay Area. She also has recruited a group of world figures, part of J. Harold Dollar Symposia, to lecture on the campus.

Dr. Lepage has received many awards for her achievements. They include a Japan Foundation Fellowship, the Distinguished Citizen Award from the Marin Cultural Center, Dominican's Sarlo Distinguished Professor Award for Lifetime Achievement, Doctor of Humane Letters from Marymount University, the Pacific Basin Alumni Award, the Sister Aquinas Nimitz Distinguished Service Award, and induction into the Marin County Women's Hall of Fame.


November 17, 2016