Business professor Dr. Denise Lucy wins faculty achievement award

Denise Lucy, Professor of Business and Organizational Studies and Founder and Executive Director of the Institute for Leadership Studies at Dominican, was named the recipient of the Joseph R. Fink Faculty Achievement Award on October 28 during Convocation 2016 in Angelico Concert Hall.

The award is named for the institution’s eighth president, honors a faculty member’s lifetime achievement and dedication to Dominican. Recipients are recognized as outstanding teachers who have brought distinction to Dominican through their research, creative work, service, or leadership of a distinguished academic program.

Dr. Lucy is a published expert in leadership, micro-credit loans, international trade, and business pedagogy in the Barowsky School of Business. At Dominican, she has served in numerous leadership roles—from Associate Dean to Vice President.

In 2002, Lucy founded Dominican’s Institute for Leadership Studies, which promotes the study, teaching, and practice of effective, ethical leadership. Today, it offers undergraduate and graduate degrees, a minor, and an MBA concentration. The ILS has created the Office of Executive Education and has developed programs such as LeaderShape and clubs such as Toastmasters, Rotoract, and Global Ambassadors.

In addition, in 2003, Lucy established the Leadership Lecture Series, which over the years has provided our students the opportunity to engage with local and global leaders of the highest caliber.

In 2011, Lucy was inducted into the Marin County Women’s Hall of Fame. She is enshrined as one of  six Dominican educators  – Sister M. Samuel Conlan (1995), Melba Beals (2002), Dr. Francoise Lepage (2007),  Sister Marion Irvine (2009), and LeeAnn Bartolini (2013) – as Marin Women’s Hall of Fame inductees.

Lucy holds an EdD in Organization and Leadership from University of San Francisco and an MS in Counseling Psychology from California State University, Fresno. She became the second Dominican professor to receive the Fink Faculty Achievement Award, following art professor Foad Satterfield in 2015.


November 2, 2016