Events

SPRING 2016

DateTitleTimeLocation
Thurs, Jan 28, 2016 "Best Ideas from the Faculty Development Conference, POD 2015"
Julia Wilbarger, Chang Seob Yeo, Mojgan Behmand, and Lynn Sondag
12:00-1:30pm Creekside
Fri, Feb 5, 2016 "Dealing with Student Anxiety"
Diane Suffridge
12:00-1:30pm Creekside
Mon, Feb 8, 2016 "Giving Feedback on Student Writing Using Rubrics"
Mojgan Behmand
12:00-1:30pm Creekside
Tues, Feb 16, 2016 "Diving with Penguins: Dominican Diversity Data"
Suresh Appavoo
Co-sponsored with the Office of Diversity and Equity 
12:00-1:30 pm Creekside
Mon, Feb 29, 2016 "Teacher of the Year"
Ekaterina Kalashnikova and Alison Howard
12:00-1:30pm Creekside
Thurs, March 3, 2016 "Cultural Aspects of Learning"
Darla Deardorff, Duke University
9:00-12noon Creekside
Mon, March 14, 2016 For Tenure-Track Faculty: viewing session of recorded "Surviving and Thriving in the Tenure and Promotion Process (Part I)" from fall 2015 12:00-1:30pm Creekside
Tue, March 22, 2016 For Tenure-Track Faculty: viewing session of recorded "Surviving and Thriving in the Tenure and Promotion Process (Part II)" from fall 2015 12:00-1:30pm Creekside
Wed, April 6, 2016 "Building Google i-Site and Surveys"
Levi Shanks
12:00-1:30pm Creekside
Thurs, April 21, 2016 "Discipline-Centered Curricula for Diversity, Equity, and Civic Engagement"
Suresh Appavoo
Co-sponsored with the Office of Diversity and Equity
12:00-1:30pm Creekside

PAST SEMESTERS

DateTitleTimeLocation
Mon, Aug 3, 2015 "Colloquium"
Faculty and Mojgan Behmand
9:30 am-4:30 pm Creekside
Tue, Aug 4, 2015 "From Moodle to Google"
Jane Droogsma
9:30 pm-4:30 pm Creekside
Weds, Aug 5, 2015 "Class Act: Rethinking the Syllabus for Enhanced Learning" and "Questions of Power: Designing and Evaluating Assignments 
Matthew Bronson

"Evaluation of Student Presentations"
Bradley van Alstyne 
10:00 am-4:30 pm Creekside
Thurs, Aug 6, 2015 "Teaching with Technology: E-portfolios and Critical Digital Pedagogy"
Andrea Rehn, Whittier College 
9:30 am-4:30 pm Creekside
Fri, Sept 18, 2015 "Why Curricular Maps Are Sexy (Or, At Least Useful)"
Matthew Bronson and Ashley Finley 
9:00 am-12:00pm Garden Room, Edgehill
Mon, Sept. 21, 2015 "Helping Students in Crisis Survive; Helping All Students Thrive" 
Robin Gayle, Levi Shanks, and Ashley Finley
12:00 - 4:30 pm Creekside
Wed, Sept 9, 2015 "Diversity Data Workshop" 
Suresh Appavoo and Chris Antons
12:00 - 2:00 pm Creekside
Tues, Sept 15, 2015 "Facilitating Successful Committee Meetings"
Alice Cochran 
12:00-2:00 pm Creekside
Thurs, Sept 17, 2015 "Diversity Hiring Practices"
Suresh Appavoo
12:00 - 2:00 pm Creekside
Mon, Oct 5, 2015 "Digital Pedagogies: 21st Century in the Classroom I"
Elizabeth Truesdell, Rebecca Birch, and Shadi Roshandel
12:00 - 1:30 pm Creekside
Fri, Oct 30, 2015 "Surviving and Thriving in the Tenure and Promotion Process"
VPAA Pitchford, Dean Stivers, Dean Wang, and members of the PREC 
9:00 am-12:00 pm Guzman 306
Wed, Nov 11, 2015 "Digital Pedagogies: 21st Century in the Classroom II" 
Elizabeth Truesdell and Rebecca Birch
12:00 - 1:30 pm Albertus Magnus 102
Fri, Nov 20, 2015 "Equity and Democracy through Civic Engagement"
Seth Pollack, University of Wisconsin-Madison
9:00 - 12:00 noon Meadowlands 106 Assembly Hall