2022 Commencement Program

Congratulations class of 2022! 

students pose for group photo at graduation ceremony


8 a.m. Students arrive

9:30 a.m. Procession Begins

10 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Ceremony

12:30 p.m. Commencement Picnic

To return to the main commencement page, click here.

View Ceremony Recording


National Anthem (introduced by Mojgan Behmand)
Stephen Aguirre ‘22, Music and Business major 
Jessica Alcala ‘22, Music and Psychology major 
Dante Del Rosario ‘22, Music and Business major 
Lizet Reyes Rodas ‘22, Biology and Music major 
Drake Simon ‘22, Dance and Music major

Nicola Pitchford, President
Carolyn Klebanoff, Chair, Board of Trustees

Commencement Address
John Francis, Environmental Educator, Author, and Activist

Conferral of Honorary Degree
Nicola Pitchford, President
Alan Guskin, Member, Board of Trustees
Vania Coelho, Professor, Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Upon: John Francis

Teacher of the Year Awards
Presented by Mojgan Behmand, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty

Graduate Awards
Presented by Mojgan Behmand, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty

  • Saskia Rose Hicks ‘22, Barowsky School of Business
  • Bryan Joshua Long ‘22, School of Health and Natural Sciences
  • Savannah Stone ‘22, School of Liberal Arts and Education

Graduate Class Address
María Elena Fuster ‘22, Art Therapy PhD

Presentation of Candidates for Graduate Degrees
Mojgan Behmand, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty

Declaration of Conferral of Graduate Degrees
Nicola Pitchford, President

Undergraduate Awards 
Presented by Paul Raccanello, Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Dean of Students

Senior Class Address
Hannah Naylor Roitman ‘22, School of Health and Natural Sciences

Presentation of Candidates for Baccalaureate
Gigi Gokcek, Dean, School of Liberal Arts and Education 
Yung-Jae Lee, Dean, Barowsky School of Business 
Ruth Ramsey, Dean, School of Health and Natural Sciences

Declaration of Conferral of Baccalaureate Degrees
Nicola Pitchford, President

Sr. Carla Kovack, OP, ‘69, Prioress, Dominican Sisters of San Rafael


Honorary Degree Recipient
John Francis, PhD, is known the world over as the Planetwalker. Several months after witnessing an oil spill in the San Francisco Bay in 1971, Francis stopped using motorized vehicles and shortly thereafter took a vow of silence. His non-motorized lifestyle lasted 22 years and his silence 17. During that time, Francis walked across the United States, earning a B.A at Southern Oregon State College, an M.S. in environmental studies at the University of Montana, and a Ph.D. from the Nelson Institute Land Resources program at the University of Wisconsin—Madison (UW-M). Then, he wrote oil spill regulations for the U.S. Coast Guard, returning to travel a year later; he sailed and walked through the Caribbean and the length of South America as a goodwill ambassador to the World's Grassroots Communities for the United Nations Environment Program. 

Since 2011, Francis has served as a visiting associate professor of environmental studies at UW-M. A local government commissioner, Francis ran for US Congress in 2020. He is currently an ethics adviser for STAR-TIDES (Sharing To Accelerate Research – Transformative Innovation for Development and Emergency Support), a global knowledge-sharing network focused on building sustainable resilience in response to natural and man-made disasters. He is also an education fellow at the National Geographic Society and the author of Planetwalker and The Ragged Edge of Silence: Finding Peace in a Noisy World. Speaking Internationally on sustainability and environmental justice, his illustrated children’s book Human Kindness: True Stories of Compassion and Generosity will be published in September 2022.

View PDF Program