dominican logo top
 
You are here: Home / Academics / School of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences / Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

AHSS School Banner 

 AHSS Dean's Office

 

Laura Stivers, Ph.D.

Dr. Laura Stivers, Ph.D.
Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
laura.stivers@dominican.edu
(415) 482-1880

Keiko_Ehret.jpg

Keiko Ehret, B.A.
Director of Operations
keiko.ehret@dominican.edu
(415) 482-3528

Pathways Student Leona

Leona George-Davidson, B.A.
Administrative Coordinator
leona.george-davidson@dominican.edu
(415) 257-1382

Faculty

By Department

Art, Art History and Design  : :  Communications and Media Studies  : :  Gender Studies  : :  Graduate Humanities   : :  History  : :  Humanities and Cultural Studies  : :  Literature and Language  : :   Music, Dance & Performing Arts  : :  Political Science and International Studies  : :  Psychology  : :   Religion and Philosophy

Art, Art History, and Design

Lynn Sondag

Lynn Sondag, MFA
Chair of Art, Art History and Design
Assistant Professor of Art
lynn.sondag@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

Steve Polacco

Steven Polacco, MFA
Director & Assistant Professor of Graphic Art and Design
steven.polacco@dominican.edu

Leslie Ross

Leslie Ross, Ph.D.
Director & Professor of Art History
leslie.ross@dominican.edu

Foad Satterfield

Foad Satterfield, MFA
Professor of Art
foad.satterfield@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

No Photo

Edythe Bresnahan
Adjunct Professor of Art
edythe.bresnahan@dominican.edu

Sandi Chin

Sandi Chin MFA
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Art History
sandi.chin@dominican.edu

Heidi Chretien

Heidi Chretien, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art History, History
heidi.chretien@dominican.edu

Karrie Hovey

Karrie Hovey, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
karrie.hovey@dominican.edu

Patsy Krebs

Patsy Krebs, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
patsy.krebs@dominican.edu

Rod Larson

Rod Laursen, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Photography
rod.laursen@dominican.edu

Michael Leonard

Michael Leonard, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art History
michael.leonard@dominican.edu

Robin McClosky

Robin McCloskey, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
robin.mccloskey@dominican.edu 

du_b_y_logo (1) 16-13-11.jpg

Pamela Peck, MFA
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art
pamela.peck@dominican.edu 

Communication and Media Studies

Brad Van Alstyne

Bradley Van Alstyne, M.A.
Chair of Communications and Media Studies
Assistant Professor of Communications
bradley.vanalstyne@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

John Duvall

John Duvall, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Communication and Media Studies
john.duvall@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

No Photo

Elisabeth Grinnell, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Communication and Media Studies
elisabeth.grinnell@dominican.edu">

Stuart Horne

Stuart Horne, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Communication and Media Studies 
BA, Dominican University of California
stuart.horne@dominican.edu

Laurie Lattimore Volkman

Laurie Lattimore Volkman, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
laurie.lattimore-volkmann@dominican.edu

dana.king_180_200.jpg

Dana King, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
dana.king@dominican.edu

No Photo

Scott Calhoun
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
scott.calhoun@dominican.edu

No Photo

Laila McClay
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
laila.mcclay@dominican.edu

No Photo

Barry Tompkins
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
barry.tompkins@dominican.edu

Tim Metzger

Tim Metzger, B.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
tim.metzger@dominican.edu

Leona George-Davidson

Leona George-Davidson, B.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
leona.george-davidson@dominican.edu

Frankie Frost

Frankie Frost, B.S.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
frank.frost@dominican.edu

Lise Stampfli Torme

Lise Stampfli Torme, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
lise.stampflitorme@dominican.edu

Gender Studies

mairi_pileggi.jpg

Mairi Pileggi, Ph.D.
Director of Gender Studies
Assistant Professor, Gender Studies
mairi.pileggi@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

LeeAnn Bartolini

LeeAnn Bartolini, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
leeann.bartolini@dominican.edu

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP, Ph.D.
Professor, History
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English
carlos.rodriguez@dominican.edu

Graduate Humanities

Josh Horowitz

Josh Horowitz.
Temporary Chair of Graduate Humanities
joshua.horowitz@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

Joan Barranow

Joan Baranow, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, English
joan.baranow@dominican.edu

No Photo

Christian Dean, Ph.D.
Professor, Political Science
christian.dean@dominican.edu

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor, History
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

Phillip Novak

Philip Novak, Ph.D.
Professor, Religion
philip.novak@dominican.edu

Leslie Ross

Leslie Ross, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of Art History
leslie.ross@dominican.edu

Craig Singleton

Craig Singleton, DMA
Professor, Music
craig.singleton@dominican.edu

Harlan Stelmach

Harlan Stelmach, Ph.D.
Professor, Humanities
harlan.stelmach@dominican.edu

History

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor, History
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

 

Part-time Faculty

Arthur Scott

Arthur Scott, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, History and Cultural Studies 
arthur.scott@dominican.edu

Cynthia Brown

Cynthia Brown, MAT, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor Emerita of History
cynthia.brown@dominican.edu

Heidi Chretien

Heidi Chretien, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of History
heidi.chretien@dominican.edu

Cynthia Taylor

Cynthia Taylor, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, History and Religion
cynthia.taylor@dominican.edu

No Photo

Bernard Von Bothmer, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, History
bernard.vonbothmer@dominican.edu

Humanities and Cultural Studies

clow_c_cropped.jpg

Chase Clow, Ph.D.
Division Chair, Humanities, Religion and Philosophy
Assistant Professor, Humanities
chase.clow@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

Julia Van Der Ryn

Julia Van Der Ryn, M.A.
Director of Service Learning
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
julia.vanderryn@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

No Photo

Nahid Angha, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Cultural Studies
nahid.angha@dominican.edu

Steven Borish

Steven Borish, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Social and Cultural Studies
steven.borish@dominican.edu

Robert Bradford

Robert Bradford, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
robert.bradford@dominican.edu

David Escobar

David Escobar, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Social and Cultural Studies
david.escobar@dominican.edu

Josh Horowitz

Josh Horowitz
Adjunct Instructor, History and Cultural Studies
joshua.horowitz@dominican.edu

No Photo

Sr. Marie Sagues, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music and Cultural Studies
marie.sagues@dominican.edu

Arthur Scott

Arthur Scott, M.A.
Assistant Professor, History and Cultural Studies
arthur.scott@dominican.edu

Literature and Language

Judy Halebsky

Judy Halebsky, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, English
judy.halebsky@dominican.edu

Joan Baranow

Joan Baranow, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, English
joan.baranow@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

Mojgan Behmand

Mojgan Behmand, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Associate Professor, English
mojgan.behmand@dominican.edu

Radica Ostojic-Portello

Radiça Ostojic-Portello
Assistant Professor, International Languages
International Language Study
radica.ostojic-portello@dominican.edu

Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English
carlos.rodriguez@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

Alan Cumings

Alan Cumings, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor
alan.cummings@dominican.edu

Caroline Hanssen

Caroline Hanssen, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
caroline.hansen@dominican.edu

Chris Johnson

Chris Johnson, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor
chris.johnson@dominican.edu

Dan May

Daniel May, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
daniel.may@dominican.edu

No Photo

Noel Robertson, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
noel.robertson@dominican.edu

Richard Simon

Richard Simon, MFA
Adjunct Assistant Professor
richard.simon@dominican.edu

No Photo

Lisa Thomas, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, English
lisa.thomas@dominican.edu

No Photo

Jan Van Stavern, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor 
jan.vanstavern@dominican.edu

No Photo

Sr. Aaron Winkleman, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita, English
aaron.winkleman@dominican.edu

MUSIC, DANCE AND PERFORMING ARTS

June Oh

June Oh, M.M.
Chair Music, Dance and Performing Arts
Assistant Professor, Music 
june.oh@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

Marina Hotchkiss 2

Marina Hotchkiss, B.A.
BFA Program Director, Dance
marina.hotchkiss@dominican.edu

Craig Singleton

Craig Singleton, DMA
Professor, Music
craig.singleton@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

No Photo

David Blakey
Adjunct Instructor, Guitar

No Photo

Joseph Bloom, MFA
Adjunct Instructor
joseph.bloom@dominican.edu

No Photo

Christian Burns
Adjunct Instructor, Dance 

No Photo

Pamela Carey, BM, MM
Adjunct Instructor, Violin
pamela.carey@dominican.edu

No Photo

Lee Wei Chao
Adjunct Instructor, Dance 

No Photo

Ken Crawford , B.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Percussion 
ken.crawford@dominican.edu

No Photo

Mark Culbertson, M.M.
Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Band
mark.culbertson@dominican.edu

No Photo

Kara Davis
Adjunct Instructor, Dance 

Gregory Dawson

Gregory Dawson 
Adjunct Instructor, Ballet, Choreography

No Photo

Alonzo King
Founder, LINES Ballet

No Photo

Bonnie Lockett
Adjunct Instructor, Flute

No Photo

Marian Marsh
Adjunct Instructor, Voice
marian.marsh@dominican.edu

No Photo

Julie Nicholas, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music 
julie.nicholas@dominican.edu

No Photo

Debra Rose
Adjunct Instructor, Gyrokinesis, Gyrotonic

Marie Sagues

Sr. Marie Sagues, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music and Cultural Studies
marie.sagues@dominican.edu

No Photo

Beth Singleton
Adjunct Instructor, Organ

No Photo

Barbara Wampner, M.A.
Director of Suzuki Music School
barbara.wampner@dominican.edu

No Photo

Cheryl Ziedrich, M.M
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music
cheryl.ziedrich@dominican.edu

POLITICAL SCIENCE AND INTERNATIONAL STUDIES

No Photo

Alison Howard, M.A.
Chair and Assistant Professor, Political Science
alison.howard@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

No Photo

Christian Dean, Ph.D.
Professor, Political Science
christian.dean@dominican.edu

No Photo

Gigi Gokcek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, International Relations
gigi.gokcek@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

No Photo

Robert Proctor, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, International Relations
robert.proctor@dominican.edu

No Photo

David Weinsoff, JD
Adjunct Instructor, Political Science, Environmental Law

PSYCHOLOGY

Full-time Faculty

LeeAnn Bartolini

LeeAnn Bartolini, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
leeann.bartolini@dominican.edu

Matt Davis

Matthew Davis, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
matthew.davis@dominican.edu

Gail Mathews

Gail Matthews, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
gail.matthews@dominican.edu

Afshin Gharib

Afshin Gharib, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Psychology
afshin.gharib@dominican.edu

William Phillips

William Phillips, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
william.phillips@dominican.edu

William Phillips

Emily Newton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Psychology
emily.newton@dominican.edu

RELIGION AND PHILOSOPHY

Chase Clow

Chase Clow, Ph.D.
Division Chair, Humanities, Religion and Philosophy
Assistant Professor, Humanities
chase.clow@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

Robert Haberman

(Rev.) C. Robert Haberman, DMin
Assistant Professor
robert.haberman@dominican.edu

Phillip Novak

Philip Novak, Ph.D.
Professor, Religion
philip.novak@dominican.edu

Henry Shreibman

Henry Shreibman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy
henry.shreibman@dominican.edu

Scott Sinclair

Scott Sinclair, Ph.D.
Chair and Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy
scott.sinclair@dominican.edu

Harlan Stelmach

Harlan Stelmach, Ph.D.
Professor, Humanities
harlan.stelmach@dominican.edu

Laura Stivers

Laura Stivers, Ph.D.
Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Dean
Professor, Ethics
laura.stivers@dominican.edu

Julia Van Der Ryn

Julia Van Der Ryn, M.A.
Director of Service Learning
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
julia.vanderryn@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

Lindsey Dean

Lindsey Dean, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
lindsey.dean@dominican.edu

Bonnie Howe

Bonnie Howe, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
bonnie.howe@dominican.edu

Gay Lynch

Gay Lynch, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Religion
gay.lynch@dominican.edu

No Photo

Michael Morrisey, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
michael.morrissey@dominican.edu

No Photo

Ellen Six, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
ellen.six@dominican.edu

Cynthia Taylor

Cynthia Taylor, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, History and Religion
cynthia.taylor@dominican.edu


Common Sites & Pages


Students

Faculty & Staff

Alumni/Parents