dominican logo top
 
You are here: Home / Academics / School of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences / Faculty & Staff

Faculty & Staff

AHSS School Banner 

 AHSS Dean's Office

Nicola Pitchford, Ph.D.

Dr. Nicola Pitchford
Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
nicola.pitchford@dominican.edu
(415) 482-1880

Keiko_Ehret.jpg

Ms. Keiko Ehret
Executive Assistant
BA Dominican University of California
keiko.ehret@dominican.edu
(415) 482-3528

faculty

By Department

Art, Art History and Design  : :  Communications and Media Studies  : :  Gender Studies  : :  Graduate Humanities   : :  History  : :  Humanities and Cultural Studies  : :  Literature and Language  : :   Music, Dance & Performing Arts  : :  Political Science and International Studies  : :  Psychology  : :   Religion and Philosophy

Art, Art History, and Design

Lynn Sondag

Lynn Sondag, MFA
Chair of Art, Art History and Design
Assistant Professor of Art
MFA, California College of the Arts
lynn.sondag@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

Steve Polacco

Steven Polacco, MFA
Director & Assistant Professor of Graphic Art and Design
MFA, University of California, Berkeley
steven.polacco@dominican.edu

Leslie Ross

Leslie Ross, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Art History
Ph.D. University of California
leslie.ross@dominican.edu

Foad Satterfield

Foad Satterfield, MFA
Professor of Art, San Marco Gallery Curator
MFA, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
foad.satterfield@dominican.edu

Neal Wolfe

Neal Wolfe
Assistant Professor, Art History and Cultural Studies
MA, Dominican University of California
neal.wolfe@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

No Photo

Edythe Bresnahan
Professor of Art
MA, University of California, Berkeley
edythe.bresnahan@dominican.edu

Sandi Chin

Sandi Chin MFA
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Art History
MFA, University of California Berkeley
sandi.chin@dominican.edu

Heidi Chretien

Heidi Chretien, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art History, History
Ph.D. State University of New York, Buffalo
heidi.chretien@dominican.edu

 Karrie Hovey

Karrie Hovey, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
MFA, Fine Art Department San Francisco State University
karrie.hovey@dominican.edu

 Patsy Krebs

Patsy Krebs, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
MFA, Claremont Graduate School
patsy.krebs@dominican.edu

Rod Larson

Rod Laursen, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Photography
MFA, San Francisco State University
rod.laursen@dominican.edu

Michael Leonard

Michael Leonard, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art History
Ph.D. University of San Francisco
michael.leonard@dominican.edu

Robin McClosky

Robin McCloskey, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
MFA, Pennsylvania State University
robin.mccloskey@dominican.edu 

du_b_y_logo (1) 16-13-11.jpg

Pamela Peck, MFA
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art
MFA, University of California, Davis
pamela.peck@dominican.edu 

 

Communication and Media Studies

Brad Van Alstyne

Bradley Van Alstyne
Chair of Communications and Media Studies
Assistant Professor of Communications
MA, California State University Chico
bradley.vanalstyne@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

John Duvall

John Duvall, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Communications
Ph.D. California Institute of Integral Studies
john. duvall@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

No Photo

Melba Patillo Beals
Chair Emeritus of Communications
MA, Columbia University
melba.beals@dominican.edu

Frankie Frost

Frankie Frost
Instructor
BS, University of North Alabama
frank.frost@dominican.edu

Elisabeth Grinnel

Elisabeth Grinnell
Instructor, Communications
MA, University of Maryland
elisabeth.grinnell@dominican.edu

Stuart Horne

Stuart Horne
Instructor
BA, Dominican University of California
stuart.horne@dominican.edu

Lisa Stamfli Torme

Lise Stampfli Torme
Instructor
MA, University of California Berkeley
lise.stampflitorme@dominican.edu

Laurie Lattimore Volkman

Laurie Lattimore Volkman
Instructor
Ph.D. University of Alabama
laurie.lattimore-volkmann@dominican.edu

 

Gender Studies

No Photo

Mairi Pileggi, Ph.D.
Director of Gender Studies
Assistant Professor, Gender Studies
Ph.D. Temple University
mairi.pileggi@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

LeeAnn Bartolini

LeeAnn Bartolini, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
Ph.D. California School of Professional Psychology
leeann.bartolini@dominican.edu

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
MA, University of San Francisco
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP
Professor, History
Ph.D. Georgetown University
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez
Assistant Professor, English
MA University of California, Davis
carlos.rodriguez@dominican.edu

 

 

Graduate Humanities

Laura Stivers

Laura Stivers, Ph.D.
Chair of Graduate Humanities
Professor, Ethics
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
laura.stivers@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

 Joan Barranow

Joan Baranow, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor, English
Ph.D. Rutgers University
joan.baranow@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Christian Dean, Ph.D.
Professor, Political Science
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara
christian.dean@dominican.edu

 Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP
Chair and Professor, History
Ph.D. Georgetown University
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

 Phillip Novak

Philip Novak, Ph.D.
Professor, Religion
Ph.D. Syracuse University
philip.novak@dominican.edu

Leslie Ross

Leslie Ross, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Art History
Ph.D. University of California
leslie.ross@dominican.edu

Craig Singleton

Craig Singleton, DMA
Professor, Music
DMA, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
craig.singleton@dominican.edu

Harlan Stelmach

Harlan Stelmach, Ph.D.
Professor, Humanities
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
harlan.stelmach@dominican.edu

 

History

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP
Chair and Professor, History
Ph.D. Georgetown University
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

 Martin Anderson

Martin Anderson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, History
JD Hastings School of Law
Ph.D. Stanford
martin.anderson@dominican.edu

 Arthur Scott

Arthur Scott
Assistant Professor, History and Cultural Studies
MA, Marquette University
arthur.scott@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

 Cynthia Brown

Cynthia Brown, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita of History
MAT, PhD Johns Hopkins University
cynthia.brown@dominican.edu

 Heidi Chretien

Heidi Chretien, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of History
Ph.D. State University New York, Buffalo
heidi.chretien@dominican.edu

 Cynthia Taylor

Cynthia Taylor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, History and Religion
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley
cynthia.taylor@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Bernard Von Bothmer, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, History
Ph.D. Indiana University 
bernard.vonbothmer@dominican.edu

 

Humanities and Cultural Studies

No Photo

Chase Clow
Director and Instructor, Humanities and Cultural Studies
MA, Dominican University of California
chase.clow@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

 Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
MA, University of San Francisco
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

 Arthur Scott

Arthur Scott
Assistant Professor, History and Cultural Studies
MA, Marquette University
arthur.scott@dominican.edu

Julia Van Der Ryn Julia Van Der Ryn
Director of Service Learning
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
MA, Dominican University of California
julia.vanderryn@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty
 No Photo

Nahid Angha, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Cultural Studies
Ph.D. Exeter
nahid.angha@dominican.edu

 Steven Borish

Steven Borish, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Social and Cultural Studies
Ph.D. Stanford
steven.borish@dominican.edu

 Robert Bradford

Robert Bradford
Adjunct Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
MA, Dominican University of California
robert.bradford@dominican.edu

 David Escobar

David Escobar
Instructor, Social and Cultural Studies
MA, St Mary's College
david.escobar@dominican.edu

 Josh Horowitz

Josh Horowitz
Instructor, History and Cultural Studies
Ph.D. Cand. University of British Columbia
joshua.horowitz@dominican.edu

No Photo

Sr. Marie Sagues
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music and Cultural Studies
MA, Dominican University of California
marie.sagues@dominican.edu

 Neal Wolfe

Neal Wolfe
Assistant Professor, Art History and Cultural Studies
MA, Dominican University of California
neal.wolfe@dominican.edu

 

Literature and Language

Joan Baranow

Joan Baranow, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor, English
Ph.D. Rutgers University
joan.baranow@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

 Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
MA, University of San Francisco
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

 Mojgan Behmand

Mojgan Behmand, Ph.D.
Director of General Education
Associate Professor, English
Ph.D. University of Dusseldorf
mojgan.behmand@dominican.edu

 Judy Halebsky

Judy Halebsky
Associate Professor, English
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
judy.halebsky@dominican.edu

No Photo Radica Ostojic-Portello

Assistant Professor, International Languages
International Language Study
radica.ostojic-portello@dominican.edu

 Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez
Assistant Professor, English
ABD, Stanford University
carlos.rodriguez@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty
 No Photo

Alan Cumings
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
alan.cummings@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Caroline Hanssen
Instructor
MA, CSU Los Angeles
caroline.hansen@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Chris Johnson
Instructor
MS, Syracuse University
chris.johnson@dominican.edu

 Dan May

Daniel May
Adjunct Assistant Professor
MA, San Francisco State University
daniel.may@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Noel Robertson
Instructor
MA, University of California Berkeley
noel.robertson@dominican.edu

 Richard Simon

Richard Simon, MFA
Instructor
MFA, San Francisco State University
richard.simon@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Lisa Thomas
Instructor, English
MA Dominican University of California
lisa.thomas@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Jan Van Stavern, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of California Davis 
jan.vanstavern@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Sr. Aaron Winkleman, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita, English
Ph.D. University of California Los Angeles
aaron.winkleman@dominican.edu

 

MUSIC, DANCE AND PERFORMING ARTS

 

June Oh

June Oh
Chair Music, Dance and Performing Arts
Assistant Professor, Music
MM, The Juilliard School 
june.oh@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

 Marina Hotchkiss 2

Marina Hotchkiss
BFA Program Director, Dance
BA, St. Mary's College
marina.hotchkiss@dominican.edu

 Craig Singleton

Craig Singleton, DMA
Professor, Music
DMA, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
craig.singleton@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty
 No Photo

David Blakey
Instructor, Guitar

 No Photo

Joseph Bloom, MFA
Instructor
MFA, Bennington College
joseph.bloom@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Christian Burns
Instructor, Dance 

 No Photo

Pamela Carey, BM, MM
Instructor, Violin
pamela.carey@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Lee Wei Chao
Instructor, Dance 

 No Photo

Ken Crawford 
Instructor, Percussion 
BA, Amherst College 
ken.crawford@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Mark Culbertson
Instructor
MM, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
mark.culbertson@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Kara Davis
Instructor, Dance 

 No Photo

Gregory Dawson 
Instructor, Ballet, Choreography

 No Photo

Alonzo King
Founder, LINES Ballet

 No Photo

Bonnie Lockett
Instructor, Flute

 No Photo

Marian Marsh
Instructor, Voice
marian.marsh@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Julie Nicholas
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music
MA, Dominican University of California 
julie.nicholas@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Debra Rose
Instructor, Gyrokinesis, Gyrotonic

 No Photo

Sr. Marie Sagues
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music and Cultural Studies
MA, Dominican University of California
marie.sagues@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Beth Singleton
Instructor, Organ

 No Photo

Barbara Wampner
Director of Suzuki Music School
MA, San Francisco State University
barbara.wampner@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Cheryl Ziedrich
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music
MM, Dominican University of California
cheryl.ziedrich@dominican.edu

 

POLITICAL SCIENCE AND INTERNATIONAL STUDIES

No Photo

Alison Howard
Chair and Assistant Professor, Political Science
MA, University of Oklahoma
alison.howard@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

 No Photo

Christian Dean, Ph.D.
Professor, Political Science
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara
christian.dean@dominican.edu

 No Photo

Gigi Gokcek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, International Relations
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara
gigi.gokcek@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty
 No Photo

Robert Proctor
Adjunct Instructor, International Relations
MA, Columbia, MA Johns Hopkins
robert.proctor@dominican.edu

 No Photo

David Weinsoff
Adjunct Instructor, Political Science, Environmental Law
JD, University of Bridgeport School of Law

 

PSYCHOLOGY

Full-time Faculty

LeeAnn Bartolini

LeeAnn Bartolini, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
Ph.D. California School of Professional Psychology
leeann.bartolini@dominican.edu

 Matt Davis

Matthew Davis, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine
matthew.davis@dominican.edu

 Gail Mathews

Gail Matthews, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
Ph.D. University of Kentucky at Lexington
gail.matthews@dominican.edu

 Afshin Gharib

Afshin Gharib, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Psychology
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
afshin.gharib@dominican.edu

 William Phillips

William Phillips, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
Ph.D. University of Nebraska, Lincoln
william.phillips@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty
 

 

 

RELIGION AND PHILOSOPHY

Scott Sinclair

Scott Sinclair, Ph.D.
Chair and Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
scott.sinclair@dominican.edu

Full-time Faculty

 Robert Haberman

(Rev.) C. Robert Haberman, DMin
Assistant Professor
DMin, San Francisco Theological Seminary
robert.haberman@dominican.edu

Phillip Novak

Philip Novak, Ph.D.
Professor, Religion
Ph.D. Syracuse University
philip.novak@dominican.edu

 Henry Shreibman

Henry Shreibman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy
Ph.D. Columbia University
henry.shreibman@dominican.edu

Harlan Stelmach

Harlan Stelmach, Ph.D.
Professor, Humanities
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
harlan.stelmach@dominican.edu

Laura Stivers

Laura Stivers, Ph.D.
Professor, Ethics
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
laura.stivers@dominican.edu

Julia Van Der Ryn

Julia Van Der Ryn
Director of Service Learning
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
MA, Dominican University of California
julia.vanderryn@dominican.edu

Part-time Faculty

 Lindsey Dean

Lindsey Dean
Adjunct Instructor
MA, Dominican University of California
lindsey.dean@dominican.edu

Bonnie Howe

Bonnie Howe, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
bonnie.howe@dominican.edu

No Photo

Kerri Kor
Adjunct Assistant Professor
MA, Dominican University of California
kerri.kor@dominican.edu

No Photo

Sr. Carla Kovack
Instructor, Religion
MA, Graduate Theological Union
carla.kovack@dominican.edu

Gay Lynch

Gay Lynch, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Religion
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
gay.lynch@dominican.edu

No Photo

Arthur Mielke, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D. Syracuse University
arthur.mielke@dominican.edu

No Photo

Michael Morrisey, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
lindsey.dean@dominican.edu
michael.morrissey@dominican.edu

No Photo

Ellen Six, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
Ph.D. University of California Berkeley
ellen.six@dominican.edu

Cynthia Taylor

Cynthia Taylor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, History and Religion
Ph.D. Graduate Theological Union
cynthia.taylor@dominican.edu


Common Sites & Pages


Students

Faculty & Staff

Alumni/Parents