dominican logo top
 

AHSS Faculty

Art, Art History and Design  : :  Communications and Media Studies  : :  Gender Studies  : :  Graduate Humanities   : :  History  : :  Humanities and Cultural Studies  : :  Literature and Language  : :   Music, Dance & Performing Arts  : :  Political Science and International Studies  : :  Psychology  : :   Religion and Philosophy

Art, Art History, and Design

Lynn Sondag

Lynn Sondag, MFA
Chair of Art, Art History and Design
Assistant Professor of Art
lynn.sondag@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Steve Polacco

Steven Polacco, MFA
Director & Assistant Professor of Graphic Art and Design
steven.polacco@dominican.edu

 

 

Leslie Ross

Leslie Ross, Ph.D.
Director & Professor of Art History
leslie.ross@dominican.edu

 

 

Foad Satterfield

Foad Satterfield, MFA
Professor of Art
foad.satterfield@dominican.edu

 

 

Part-time

Edythe Bresnahan
Adjunct Professor of Art
edythe.bresnahan@dominican.edu

 

 

Sandi Chin

Sandi Chin MFA
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Art History
sandi.chin@dominican.edu

 

 

Heidi Chretien

Heidi Chretien, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art History, History
heidi.chretien@dominican.edu

 

 

Karrie Hovey

Karrie Hovey, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
karrie.hovey@dominican.edu

 

 

Patsy Krebs

Patsy Krebs, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
patsy.krebs@dominican.edu

 

 

Rod Larson

Rod Laursen, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Photography
rod.laursen@dominican.edu

 

 

Michael Leonard

Michael Leonard, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art History
michael.leonard@dominican.edu

 

 

Robin McClosky

Robin McCloskey, MFA
Adjunct Instructor, Art
robin.mccloskey@dominican.edu

 

 

Pamela Peck, MFA
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art
pamela.peck@dominican.edu 

 

 

 

Communication and Media Studies

Brad Van Alstyne

Bradley Van Alstyne, M.A.
Chair of Communications and Media Studies
Assistant Professor of Communications
bradley.vanalstyne@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

John Duvall

John Duvall, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Communication and Media Studies
john.duvall@dominican.edu

 

 

mairi_pileggi.jpg

Mairi Pileggi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Gender Studies
mairi.pileggi@dominican.edu

Mairi teaches environmental communication and advocacy, research methods, and digital storytelling. She also teaches courses in gender studies, especially as they intersect with communication and equity. Her recent research explores how we teach environmental communication.

 

Part-time

Scott Calhoun

Scott Calhoun
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
scott.calhoun@dominican.edu

 

 

Frankie Frost

Frankie Frost, B.S.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
frank.frost@dominican.edu

 

 

ld_george.jpg

Leona George-Davidson, B.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
leona.george-davidson@dominican.edu

 

 

Elisabeth Grinnell

Elisabeth Grinnell, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Communication and Media Studies
elisabeth.grinnell@dominican.edu"

 

 

Stuart Horne

Stuart Horne, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Communication and Media Studies 
stuart.horne@dominican.edu

 

 

dana.king_180_200.jpg

Dana King, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
dana.king@dominican.edu

 

 

Laurie Lattimore Volkman

Laurie Lattimore Volkman, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
laurie.lattimore-volkmann@dominican.edu

 

 

Laila McClay, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
laila.mcclay@dominican.edu

 

 

Tim Metzger

Tim Metzger, B.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
tim.metzger@dominican.edu

 

 

Barry Tompkins
Adjunct Instructor, Communication and Media Studies
barry.tompkins@dominican.edu

 

 

Gender Studies

mairi_pileggi.jpg

Mairi Pileggi, Ph.D.
Director of Gender Studies
Assistant Professor, Gender Studies
mairi.pileggi@dominican.edu

Mairi teaches environmental communication and advocacy, research methods, and digital storytelling. She also teaches courses in gender studies, especially as they intersect with communication and equity. Her recent research explores how we teach environmental communication.

 

Full-time

LeeAnn Bartolini

LeeAnn Bartolini, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
leeann.bartolini@dominican.edu

 

 

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

 

 

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP, Ph.D.
Professor, History
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

 

 

Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English
carlos.rodriguez@dominican.edu

 

 

Graduate Humanities

Josh Horowitz

Josh Horowitz, Ph.D.
Acting Chair, Graduate Humanities
joshua.horowitz@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Joan Barranow

Joan Baranow, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, English
joan.baranow@dominican.edu

 

 

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

 

 

Christian Dean

Christian Dean, Ph.D.
Professor, Political Science
christian.dean@dominican.edu

 

 

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor, History
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

 

 

Judy Halebsky

Judy Halebsky, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, English
judy.halebsky@dominican.edu

 

 

Phillip Novak

Philip Novak, Ph.D.
Professor, Religion
philip.novak@dominican.edu

 

 

Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English
carlos.rodriguez@dominican.edu

 

 

Leslie Ross

Leslie Ross, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of Art History
leslie.ross@dominican.edu

 

 

Craig Singleton

Craig Singleton, DMA
Professor, Music
craig.singleton@dominican.edu

 

 

Harlan Stelmach

Harlan Stelmach, Ph.D.
Professor, Humanities
harlan.stelmach@dominican.edu

 

Part-time

Heidi Chretien

Heidi Chretien, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Art History, History
heidi.chretien@dominican.edu

 

 

History

Patricia Dougherty

Sr. Patricia Dougherty, OP, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor, History
patricia.dougherty@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Cynthia Taylor

Cynthia Taylor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, History and Religion
cynthia.taylor@dominican.edu

 

 

Part-time Faculty

Arthur Scott

Arthur Scott, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, History and Cultural Studies 
arthur.scott@dominican.edu

 

 

Cynthia Brown

Cynthia Brown, MAT, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor Emerita of History
cynthia.brown@dominican.edu

 

 

Heidi Chretien

Heidi Chretien, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of History
heidi.chretien@dominican.edu

 

 

Bernard Von Bothmer

Bernard Von Bothmer, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, History
bernard.vonbothmer@dominican.edu

 

 

Humanities and Cultural Studies

clow_c_cropped.jpg

Chase Clow, Ph.D.
Chair, Humanities Division (Humanities and Cultural Studies, Religion, Philosophy)
Assistant Professor, Humanities
chase.clow@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

 

 

 

Part-time

Nahid Angha, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Cultural Studies
nahid.angha@dominican.edu

 

 

Steven Borish

Steven Borish, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Social and Cultural Studies
steven.borish@dominican.edu

 

 

Robert Bradford

Robert Bradford, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
robert.bradford@dominican.edu

 

 

David Escobar

David Escobar, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Social and Cultural Studies
david.escobar@dominican.edu

 

 

Josh Horowitz

Josh Horowitz, PhD
Adjunct Instructor, History and Cultural Studies
joshua.horowitz@dominican.edu

 

 

No Photo

Sr. Marie Sagues, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music and Cultural Studies
marie.sagues@dominican.edu

 

 

Arthur Scott

Arthur Scott, M.A.
Assistant Professor, History and Cultural Studies
arthur.scott@dominican.edu

 

 

Literature and Language

Judy Halebsky

Judy Halebsky, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, English
judy.halebsky@dominican.edu

 

 

Joan Baranow

Joan Baranow, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, English
joan.baranow@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Thomas Burke

Thomas Burke, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English and Cultural Studies
thomas.burke@dominican.edu

 

 

 

Radica Ostojic-Portello

Radiça Ostojic-Portello
Assistant Professor, International Languages
International Language Study
radica.ostojic-portello@dominican.edu

 

 

Carlos Rodriguez

Carlos Rodriguez, M.A.
Assistant Professor, English
carlos.rodriguez@dominican.edu

 

 

Part-time

Alan Cumings

Alan Cumings, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor
alan.cummings@dominican.edu

 

 

Caroline Hanssen

Caroline Hanssen, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
caroline.hansen@dominican.edu

 

 

Chris Johnson

Chris Johnson, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor
chris.johnson@dominican.edu

 

 

Dan May

Daniel May, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
daniel.may@dominican.edu

 

 

No Photo

Noel Robertson, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
noel.robertson@dominican.edu

 

 

Richard Simon

Richard Simon, MFA
Adjunct Assistant Professor
richard.simon@dominican.edu

 

 

Lisa Thomas, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor, English
lisa.thomas@dominican.edu

 

 

Jan Van Stavern, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor
jan.vanstavern@dominican.edu

 

 

Sr. Aaron Winkleman, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita, English
aaron.winkleman@dominican.edu

 

 

MUSIC, DANCE AND PERFORMING ARTS

June Oh

June Oh, M.M.
Chair Music, Dance and Performing Arts
Assistant Professor, Music 
june.oh@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Marina Hotchkiss 2

Marina Hotchkiss, B.A.
BFA Program Director, Dance
marina.hotchkiss@dominican.edu

 

 

Craig Singleton

Craig Singleton, DMA
Professor, Music
craig.singleton@dominican.edu

 

 

Part-time

David Blakey
Adjunct Instructor, Guitar

 

Joseph Bloom, MFA
Adjunct Instructor
joseph.bloom@dominican.edu

 

Christian Burns
Adjunct Instructor, Dance 

 

Pamela Carey, BM, MM
Adjunct Instructor, Violin
pamela.carey@dominican.edu

 

Lee Wei Chao
Adjunct Instructor, Dance 

 

Ken Crawford , B.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Percussion 
ken.crawford@dominican.edu

 

Mark Culbertson, M.M.
Adjunct Instructor, Jazz Band
mark.culbertson@dominican.edu

 

Kara Davis
Adjunct Instructor, Dance 

 

Gregory Dawson 
Adjunct Instructor, Ballet, Choreography

 

Alonzo King
Founder, LINES Ballet

 

Bonnie Lockett
Adjunct Instructor, Flute

 

Marian Marsh
Adjunct Instructor, Voice
marian.marsh@dominican.edu

 

Julie Nicholas, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music 
julie.nicholas@dominican.edu

 

Debra Rose
Adjunct Instructor, Gyrokinesis, Gyrotonic

 

Sr. Marie Sagues, M.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music and Cultural Studies
marie.sagues@dominican.edu

 

Beth Singleton
Adjunct Instructor, Organ

 

Barbara Wampner, M.A.
Director of Suzuki Music School
barbara.wampner@dominican.edu

 

Cheryl Ziedrich, M.M
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Music
cheryl.ziedrich@dominican.edu

 

 

POLITICAL SCIENCE AND INTERNATIONAL STUDIES

Alison Howard

Alison Howard, M.A.
Chair and Assistant Professor, Political Science
alison.howard@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Christian Dean

Christian Dean, Ph.D.
Professor, Political Science
christian.dean@dominican.edu

 

 

No Photo

Gigi Gokcek, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, International Relations
gigi.gokcek@dominican.edu

 

 

Robert Proctor, M.A.Adjunct Instructor, International Relations
robert.proctor@dominican.edu

 

 

David Weinsoff, JD
Adjunct Instructor, Political Science, Environmental Law

 

 

PSYCHOLOGY

Matt Davis

Matthew Davis, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Professor, Psychology
matthew.davis@dominican.edu

 

 

Gail Mathews

Gail Matthews, Ph.D.
Co-Chair and Professor, Psychology
gail.matthews@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

LeeAnn Bartolini

LeeAnn Bartolini, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
leeann.bartolini@dominican.edu

 

 

Afshin Gharib

Afshin Gharib, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Psychology
afshin.gharib@dominican.edu

 

 

William Phillips

William Phillips, Ph.D.
Professor, Psychology
william.phillips@dominican.edu

 

 

Emily Newton

Emily Newton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Psychology
emily.newton@dominican.edu

 

 

RELIGION AND PHILOSOPHY

Chase Clow

Chase Clow, Ph.D.
Chair, Humanities Division (Humanities and Cultural Studies, Religion, Philosophy)
Assistant Professor, Humanities
chase.clow@dominican.edu

 

 

Full-time

Robert Haberman

(Rev.) C. Robert Haberman, DMin
Assistant Professor
robert.haberman@dominican.edu

 

 

Gay Lynch

Gay Lynch, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Religion
gay.lynch@dominican.edu

 

 

Phillip Novak

Philip Novak, Ph.D.
Professor, Religion
philip.novak@dominican.edu

 

 

Henry Shreibman

Henry Shreibman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy
henry.shreibman@dominican.edu

 

 

Scott Sinclair

Scott Sinclair, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Religion and Philosophy
scott.sinclair@dominican.edu

 

 

Harlan Stelmach

Harlan Stelmach, Ph.D.
Professor, Humanities
harlan.stelmach@dominican.edu

 

Cynthia Taylor

Cynthia Taylor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, History and Religion
cynthia.taylor@dominican.edu

 

Julia Van Der Ryn

Julia Van Der Ryn, M.A.
Director of Service Learning
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
julia.vanderryn@dominican.edu

 

 

Part-time Faculty

Lindsey Dean

Lindsey Dean, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor
lindsey.dean@dominican.edu

 

 

Bonnie Howe

Bonnie Howe, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
bonnie.howe@dominican.edu

 

 

Michael Morrisey, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
michael.morrissey@dominican.edu

 

 

Ellen Six, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor, Philosophy
ellen.six@dominican.edu

 

 

Emily Wu
Adjunct Instructor, Philosophy
emily.wu@dominican.edu

 


Common Sites & Pages


Students

Faculty & Staff

Alumni/Parents